Uncategorized

A Reading List for Web Designers

*Update:* Thanks to “Mithrill”:http://godbit.com/forum/profile.php?id=119, you can now download this entire list, in OPML format. Many feed readers will then allow you to import the whole list in one step. *Download:* “Godbit reading list”:http://godbit.com/files/Godbit_reading_list.xml (OPML(Outline Processor Markup Language), 28kb)

bq.. “Have some RSS; it’s good for you.”

“What’s RSS?”

p. These are times that demand we learn and grow, just to keep up. So many exciting things are happening in the web design community, that it’s hard to know where to start.

As the amount of interesting content on the web increases, a bunch of people ask the same question:

bq.. *Question:* “How can I access, read and manage all the content I want, from all these websites, in one organized place?”

*Answer:* All that content pumping out of each site can be packaged in a “feed.” The feeds from all the sites you’re interested in can be managed, organized and read with a “feed reader.”

p. In other words, using a feed reader is like having your own customized, automatically generated news channel.

h3. RSS Readers

There are _lots_ of different feed readers. Some feed readers may be integrated in desktop software, such as your browser or your office productivity suite. Other feed readers are freely available online:

* “Bloglines”:http://bloglines.com/
* “News Gator”:http://newsgator.com/
* “Google Reader”:http://google.com/reader/

In any event, the one I use and recommend is Newshutch:

* “Newshutch”:http://newshutch.com/

h4. What to read?

This is a list of RSS feeds, which is based on the feeds that I read, on topics including the church online, photoshop, web design, etc.

By the way, understand that the term “RSS” in itself is a little ambiguous, since a feed can conform to any one of several different standards, some of which have different names. For simplicity, the term “RSS” in this article will refer to all types of feeds generally.

h4. Add to the list

This article is an experiment here at Godbit, in that articles are usually written once, with a limited time period for comments.

Instead, during the commenting period, I will update this list based on your input, so that the RSS Reading List can be a resource for all.

So, if you have an RSS feed of your own, or one that you read and recommend, let us know in the comments.

h3. Resource: RSS Reading List

h4. Church

* Site: “BetaChurch.Org”:http://www.betachurch.org/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.betachurch.org/news.xml
* Site: “Church Marketing Sucks”:http://www.churchmarketingsucks.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.churchmarketingsucks.com/atom.xml
* Site: “effective web ministry notes”:http://www.eministrynotes.com — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/eministrynotes
* Site: “Heal Your Church Web Site”:http://www.healyourchurchwebsite.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.healyourchurchwebsite.com/index.rdf
* Site: “Kem Meyer on Less Clutter & Noise”:http://kemmeyer.typepad.com/less_clutter_noise/ — “RSS Feed”:http://kemmeyer.typepad.com/less_clutter_noise/index.rdf
* Site: “ServantBlog”:http://servantblog.com — “RSS Feed”:http://servantblog.com/feed/

h4. Comics

* Site: “Dilbert”:http://www.dilbert.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.tapestrycomics.com/dilbert.xml
* Site: “Reverend Fun”:http://www.reverendfun.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.reverendfun.com/features/rss/?language=en

h4. CSS Showcase

* Site: “ChurchBeauty”:http://www.churchbeauty.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.churchbeauty.com/?feed=rss2
* Site: “CSS Beauty”:http://www.cssbeauty.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.cssbeauty.com/index.xml
* Site: “CSS Mania”:http://cssmania.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/cssmania
* Site: “CSS Remix”:http://www.cssremix.com — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/cssremix
* Site: “CSS Vault Gallery”:http://cssvault.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://cssvault.com/gallery.xml
* Site: “Design Melt Down”:http://www.designmeltdown.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/designmeltdown/uecD
* Site: “Design Shack”:http://www.designshack.co.uk — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/designshack
* Site: “Liquid Designs”:http://www.cssliquid.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.cssliquid.com/feed/
* Site: “Stylegala | gallery”:http://www.stylegala.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.stylegala.com/feeds/gallery.xml
* Site: “Unmatched Style | Gallery”:http://www.unmatchedstyle.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.unmatchedstyle.com/index.xml
* Site: “Web Creme”:http://www.webcreme.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.webcreme.com/feed

h4. Getting Things Done

* Site: “David Seah”:http://davidseah.com — “RSS Feed”:http://davidseah.com/syndicated
* Site: “Gary Slinger”:http://garyslinger.com/blog — “RSS Feed”:http://garyslinger.com/blog/feed/
* Site: “Marc's Outlook on Productivity”:http://blogs.officezealot.com/marc/default.aspx — “RSS Feed”:http://blogs.officezealot.com/marc/Rss.aspx
* Site: “Meryl.net”:http://meryl.net — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/Meryl
* Site: “OpenOffice.org Training, Tips, and Ideas”:http://openoffice.blogs.com/openoffice/ — “RSS Feed”:http://openoffice.blogs.com/openoffice/index.rdf
* Site: “Slacker Manager”:http://slackermanager.com — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/SlackerManager

h4. Godbit

* Site: “Andy Knight”:http://www.andyknight.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/andyknight/
* Site: “Art of Mission – Blog”:http://www.artofmission.com/articles — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/artofmission
* Site: “Tim Bednar “:http://www.turtleinteractive.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/TurtleInteractive
* Site: “Christian Montoya”:http://www.christianmontoya.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/christianmontoya
* Site: “CD Harrison”:http://cdharrison.com/index.php/feed/ — “RSS Feed”:http://cdharrison.com/index.php/feed/
* Site: “Cody Lindley”:http://codylindley.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://codylindley.com/?rss=1
* Site: “Godbit Project”:http://godbit.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://godbit.com/rss/
* Site: “i am a camera”:http://iamacamera.org/ — “RSS Feed”:http://iamacamera.org/default.aspx?feed=rss20
* Site: “Jeremy Flint”:http://www.jeremyflint.com/ — “RSS Feed”:feed://http//www.jeremyflint.com/feed/
* Site: “Justin Thorp”:http://www.mycapitalweb.com/justin/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.mycapitalweb.com/justin/?feed=rss2
* Site: “Larry Tomlinson”:http://anoteaboutmyself.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://anoteaboutmyself.com/rss/
* Site: “Matt Heerema”:http://mattheerema.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/mattheerema-full
* Site: “Nathan Logan”:http://nathanlogan.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://nathanlogan.com/?rss=1
* Site: “Rob Soulι”:http://www.couchfort.net/ — “RSS Feed”:http://couchfort.net/rss/?category=blogs&section=article
* Site: “Robert R Evans”:http://www.robertrevans.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://robertrevans.com/feed/atom.xml
* Site: “SonSpring”:http://sonspring.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://sonspring.com/rss/
* Site: “Standards for Life”:http://www.standardsforlife.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/standardsforlife
* Site: “Yannick Lyn Fatt”:http://www.godsporch.net/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.godsporch.net/rss/

h4. Magazines

* Site: “A List Apart”:http://www.alistapart.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.alistapart.com/rss.xml
* Site: “Bite Size Standards – bites”:http://bitesizestandards.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/bitesizestandards
* Site: “design fckr”:http://dfckr.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/DesignFckr
* Site: “design in-flight”:http://www.designinflight.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.designinflight.com/index.xml (Sadly, seems to be in stasis.)
* Site: “Devlounge”:http://www.devlounge.net — “RSS Feed”:http://www.devlounge.net/feed/
* Site: “Digital Web: Latest Articles”:http://digital-web.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.digital-web.com/dates/rss/
* Site: “Digital Web: What’s New”:http://digital-web.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://digital-web.com/news/rss/
* Site: “evolt.org – Workers of the Web, Evolt!”:http://evolt.org — “RSS Feed”:http://evolt.org/rss/articles.rss
* Site: “Godly Creative People”:http://godlycreatives.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/gcp
* Site: “Investing Talents”:http://investingtalents.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/itmag
* Site: “Smashing Magazine”:http://www.smashingmagazine.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.smashingmagazine.com/feed/
* Site: “Stylegala | news”:http://www.stylegala.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.stylegala.com/feeds/news.xml
* Site: “Stylegala | public news”:http://www.stylegala.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.stylegala.com/feeds/public-news.xml
* Site: “UX Magazine”:http://www.uxmag.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/UXM
* Site: “UX Matters”:http://www.uxmatters.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.uxmatters.com/index.xml

h4. My (Clients’) Sites

* *Note:* Subscribe to all of your (clients’) sites!

h4. My Host

* Site: “DreamHost Status”:http://www.dreamhoststatus.com — “RSS Feed”:http://status.dreamhost.com/feed/

h4. Photoshop

* Site: “Adobe Labs”:http://weblogs.macromedia.com/labs/ — “RSS Feed”:http://weblogs.macromedia.com/labs/index.xml
* Site: “Photoshop Lab”:http://www.photoshoplab.com — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/PhotoshopLab/all
* Site: “Photoshop TV”:http://www.photoshoptv.com — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/photoshoptv

h4. Popular Blogs

* Site: “43 Folders”:http://www.43folders.com — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/43Folders
* Site: “Berkun blog”:http://www.scottberkun.com/blog — “RSS Feed”:http://www.scottberkun.com/blog/wp-rss2.php
* Site: “Digital Photography Review (dpreview.com)”:http://www.dpreview.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.dpreview.com/news/dpr.rdf
* Site: “Seth’s Blog”:http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/ — “RSS Feed”:http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/atom.xml
* Site: “TechCrunch”:http://www.techcrunch.com — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/Techcrunch

h4. Web Design

* Site: “./with Imagination”:http://www.dustindiaz.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.dustindiaz.com/feed/
* Site: “9rules Network Official Blog”:http://9rules.com/blog — “RSS Feed”:http://9rules.com/blog/feed/
* Site: “Addison Hall—Eclectic Yet Related”:http://addisonhall.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.addisonhall.com/?rss=1
* Site: “And all that Malarkey”:http://www.stuffandnonsense.co.uk/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.stuffandnonsense.co.uk/index.rdf
* Site: “Andy Budd::Blogography”:http://www.andybudd.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.andybudd.com/index.rdf
* Site: “Andy Budd::Links”:http://www.andybudd.com/links/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.andybudd.com//links/index.rdf
* Site: “Andy Rutledge : Design View”:http://andyrutledge.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://andyrutledge.com/feeds/arfeed.xml
* Site: “Anton Peck”:http://antonpeck.com/journal/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/Anton
* Site: “Authentic Boredom”:http://cameronmoll.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.cameronmoll.com/atom.xml
* Site: “Avalonstar”:http://avalonstar.com — “RSS Feed”:http://avalonstar.com/wp-rss2.php
* Site: “Bartelme Design | Journal”:http://www.bartelme.at/journal/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.bartelme.at/rss.php
* Site: “Boyink Interactive, LLC”:http://www.boyink.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.boyink.com/index.xml
* Site: “BrianBreslin.com”:http://brianbreslin.com — “RSS Feed”:http://brianbreslin.com/?feed=rss2
* Site: “ChunkySoup.net”:http://chunkysoup.net/ — “RSS Feed”:http://chunkysoup.net/atom/
* Site: “CollyLogic”:http://www.colly.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.colly.com/index.php?/weblog/rss_2.0/
* Site: “D. Keith Robinson”:http://www.dkeithrobinson.com/index.php/site/index/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/DKeithRobinson
* Site: “Dan Rubin's SuperfluousBanter”:http://superfluousbanter.org — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/superfluousbanter
* Site: “Dave Shea's mezzoblue”:http://mezzoblue.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.mezzoblue.com/rss/index.xml
* Site: “Design 2.0”:http://design2-0.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/Design2-0
* Site: “Design by Fire”:http://www.designbyfire.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.designbyfire.com/?feed=rss2
* Site: “Fiftyfoureleven.com – Resources and Links”:http://www.fiftyfoureleven.com/resources/rss — “RSS Feed”:http://www.fiftyfoureleven.com/resources/rss
* Site: “Fiftyfoureleven.com – Weblog”:http://www.fiftyfoureleven.com/weblog/rss — “RSS Feed”:http://www.fiftyfoureleven.com/weblog/rss
* Site: “hicksdesign – journal”:http://www.hicksdesign.co.uk/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/hicksdesign
* Site: “IEBlog”:http://blogs.msdn.com/ie/default.aspx — “RSS Feed”:http://blogs.msdn.com/ie/atom.xml
* Site: “Jaredigital”:http://www.jaredigital.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.jaredigital.com/atom/
* Site: “Jason Santa Maria | Articles”:http://www.jasonsantamaria.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://jasonsantamaria.com/index.rdf
* Site: “JeffCroft.com Journal”:http://jeffcroft.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www2.jeffcroft.com/feeds/blog/
* Site: “Jeffrey Veen”:http://www.veen.com/jeff/ — “RSS Feed”:http://veen.com/jeff/rss.xml
* Site: “Jeffrey Zeldman Presents The Daily Report”:http://www.zeldman.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.zeldman.com/feed/zeldman.xml
* Site: “Josh Dura”:http://www.joshdura.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://joshdura.com/?rss=1
* Site: “kartooner.com”:http://www.kartooner.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.kartooner.com/feed/rss/
* Site: “KathyMarks.com”:http://www.kathymarks.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.kathymarks.com/index.xml
* Site: “Lisa McMillan dot com”:http://www.lisamcmillan.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/lisamcmillan/ikDT
* Site: “maratz.com”:http://www.maratz.com/blog — “RSS Feed”:http://www.maratz.com/rss/
* Site: “markboulton.co.uk | Journal”:http://www.markboulton.co.uk/journal/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.markboulton.co.uk/journal/rss_2.0/
* Site: “MBoffin.com – Recent Posts”:http://mboffin.com — “RSS Feed”:http://mboffin.com/rss/all
* Site: “microformatique – a blog about microformats”:http://microformatique.com — “RSS Feed”:http://microformatique.com/?feed=rss2
* Site: “Modern Life Is Rubbish”:http://www.modernlifeisrubbish.co.uk — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/ModernLifeIsRubbish
* Site: “molly.com”:http://www.molly.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.molly.com/feed/rss2/
* Site: “News from Adaptive Path”:http://www.adaptivepath.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://adaptivepath.com/index.xml
* Site: “Ordered List by Steve Smith – Home”:http://orderedlist.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://orderedlist.com/feed/
* Site: “Robert's talk”:http://www.robertnyman.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.robertnyman.com/feed/atom/
* Site: “ryan werth design : blog”:http://ryanwerth.com/blog/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.ryanwerth.com/blog/rss/
* Site: “Shaun Inman”:http://www.shauninman.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.shauninman.com/feed/made-fresh
* Site: “Sillyness Spelled Wrong Intentionally”:http://www.chrisjdavis.org — “RSS Feed”:http://www.chrisjdavis.org/feed/
* Site: “Simon Willison's Weblog Entries”:http://simonwillison.net/ — “RSS Feed”:http://simon.incutio.com/syndicate/rss1.0
* Site: “SimpleBits”:http://www.simplebits.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.simplebits.com/xml/rss.xml
* Site: “Small Transport”:http://www.smalltransport.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.smalltransport.com/articlerss/
* Site: “Smiley Cat: Christian Watson's Web Design Blog”:http://www.smileycat.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/smileycat
* Site: “solarDreamStudios”:http://solardreamstudios.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://solardreamstudios.com/rss/
* Site: “Stopdesign”:http://www.stopdesign.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://stopdesign.com/index.xml
* Site: “Subtraction”:http://www.subtraction.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.subtraction.com/atom.xml
* Site: “Tantek.com/”:http://tantek.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://tantek.com/log/posts.atom
* Site: “The Man in Blue”:http://www.themaninblue.com/writing/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.themaninblue.com/perspective.xml
* Site: “The Watchmaker Project – journal”:http://www.thewatchmakerproject.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/thewatchmakerproject-journal
* Site: “The Web Standards Project”:http://www.webstandards.org — “RSS Feed”:http://www.webstandards.org/feed/
* Site: “Veerle's blog: Approved”:http://veerle.duoh.com/index.php/blog/approved/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/veerlesblog/approved
* Site: “Veerle's blog: Art”:http://veerle.duoh.com/index.php/art/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/artelsewhere
* Site: “Veerle's blog: full articles”:http://veerle.duoh.com/index.php/blog/index/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/veerlesblog
* Site: “Veerle's blog: Veerle's art”:http://veerle.duoh.com/index.php/artveerle/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/VeerlesArt
* Site: “Warpspire”:http://warpspire.com — “RSS Feed”:http://warpspire.com/feed
* Site: “Web Design from Scratch”:http://www.webdesignfromscratch.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.webdesignfromscratch.com/rss.xml
* Site: “Web-Graphics”:http://web-graphics.com — “RSS Feed”:http://web-graphics.com/index.xml
* Site: “WebDeveloper.com”:http://www.webdeveloper.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.webdeveloper.com/webdeveloper.rdf
* Site: “What Do I Know”:http://whatdoiknow.org/ — “RSS Feed”:http://whatdoiknow.org/index.xml

h4. Web Design: Accessibility

* Site: “456 Berea Street”:http://www.456bereastreet.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.456bereastreet.com/feed.xml
* Site: “Accessify”:http://accessify.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://accessify.com/rss/accessify_rss.xml
* Site: “Accessites”:http://accessites.org/ — “RSS Feed”:http://accessites.org/site/feed/
* Site: “Juicy Studio”:http://juicystudio.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://juicystudio.com/syndicate/juicyatom.xml

h4. Web Design: CSS

* Site: “Thoughts From Eric”:http://meyerweb.com — “RSS Feed”:http://meyerweb.com/eric/thoughts/rss2/full

h4. Web Design: DOM Scripting

* Site: “Adactio”:http://adactio.com/journal/ — “RSS Feed”:http://adactio.com/journal/rss
* Site: “Snook.ca”:http://snook.ca/jonathan/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.snook.ca/jonathan/index.rdf
* Site: “Wait till I come!”:http://www.wait-till-i.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.wait-till-i.com/wp-rss2.php

h4. Web Design: Events

* Site: “An Event Apart News”:http://www.aneventapart.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://aneventapart.com/index.xml
* Site: “Carson Systems News”:http://www.carsonsystems.com/blog — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/carsonsystems

h4. Web Design: Information Architecture

* Site: “Boxes and Arrows”:http://www.boxesandarrows.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.boxesandarrows.com/story/rss.xml
* Site: “Garrett Dimon”:http://www.garrettdimon.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.garrettdimon.com/subscribe/index.xml

h4. Web Design: Jobs

* Site: “AuthenticJobs.com Job Listings”:http://www.authenticjobs.com — “RSS Feed”:http://www.authenticjobs.com/rss/offsite.xml
* Site: “MinistryCamp Job Board”:http://jobs.ministrycamp.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/MinistryCamp-AllRecentJobs

h4. Web Design: Podcasts

* Site: “Boagworld”:http://www.boagworld.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/Boagworldcom-ForThoseManagingWebsites
* Site: “.Net Magazine”:http://www.netmag.co.uk/zine/podcast — “RSS Feed”:http://feeds.feedburner.com/pwd

h4. Web Design: Textpattern

* Site: “Textpattern”:http://textpattern.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://textpattern.com/?rss=1&section=weblog
* Site: “threshold state”:http://thresholdstate.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://thresholdstate.com/?rss=1
* Site: “Wilshire One”:http://www.wilshireone.com/ — “RSS Feed”:http://www.wilshireone.com/feeds/rss/articles/

h4. Web Apps

* Site: “Particletree”:http://particletree.com — “RSS Feed”:http://particletree.com/rss/
* Site: “Signal vs. Noise”:http://www.37signals.com/svn/posts — “RSS Feed”:http://www.37signals.com/svn/index_full.rdf

_This article is © Montgomery 2007. Some rights released with a_ Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.5 License.

_Also published at_ “Godbit”:http://godbit.com/article/reading-list.

Standard